Are grapes berries?

Yes. Botanically speaking, a grape is classified as a berry. A berry is a simple fleshy fruit that usually has many seeds and comes from one flower with one ovary. You may be surprised to know tomatoes and bananas are classified as berries by definition but raspberries and strawberries are not.