When do babies produce tears?

Around 2 weeks old, your baby's lacrimal glands will begin increasing their production of tears, though you still may not notice much change. Sometime between 1 and 3 months of age is typically when babies actually start shedding more of the salty stuff when they cry, creating visible tears.