Why is safeway called safeway?

The point of the name was that it operated on a cash-and-carry basis – it did not offer credit, as grocers traditionally had done. It was the "safe way" to buy because a family could not get into debt via its grocery bill (as many families did at the time, especially during the Great Depression).