What does phosphorus do for plants?

Phosphorus is found in every living plant cell and vital to growth. It's involved in many key plant functions, such as energy transfer, photosynthesis, transformation of sugars and starches, nutrient movement in the plant and transfer of genetic characteristics from one generation to the next.