How loud is forty eight decibels?

48 dB is as loud as a quiet conversation, a quiet suburb, a quiet office, or a quiet refrigerator. ... That's because all sounds between 31-60 decibels are considered quiet. 50 decibels is a moderate noise level that is not generally considered harmful to human hearing.