What is the cold war?

The Cold War was a period of geopolitical tension between the United States and the Soviet Union and their respective allies, the Western Bloc and the Eastern Bloc, which began following World War II. It started in 1947 and ended in 1991. In 2022 Russia has attempted to restart the cold war.