What does sci-fi mean?

Sci-fi is short for Science Fiction, a genre in literature, film, and TV. It may have first been coined by Forrest Ackerman in 1954. Topics covered by Sci-fi include: time and space travel, alien encounters, fictional or parallel universes, and fantasy creatures from fairy tales and legend.