What is a hicory?

Hickory is a North American tree of the walnut family that yields useful timber and typically bears edible nuts. Hickory leaves are long with up to 17 pointed leaflets growing oppositely on each leaf stem. Hickory tree bark is ridged, gray and peels easily at maturity. Hickory tree nuts are sweet.