Why do dogs like belly rubs so much?

Dogs love belly rubs simply because they feel good. It also sets off a specific reaction in their brain that responds to the stimulation of hair follicles. Experts believe that dogs love petting, and belly rubs in particular, because the stroking of hair is linked to social grooming.