Does a shrimp have a backbone?

There are more than 2,000 different species of shrimp worldwide, all of which are invertebrates which means that shrimp do not have a backbone. Instead, shrimp have a hard exoskeleton, commonly known as the shell, which is often transparent and colorless, making shrimp difficult to see in the water.

---

There are more than 2,000 different species of shrimp worldwide, all of which are invertebrates which means that shrimp do not have a backbone.