Why did rob gronkowski retire?

Rob Gronkowski announced his retirement two and a half years ago and sat out the 2019 season. The tight end was ready to call it quits when multiple injuries were taking more and more of a toll on his body. when his friend Tom Brady signed with the Buccaneers in 2020, Gronk came out of retirement