Who started the n. h. l.?

The National Hockey League was established on November 26, 1917 by the owners of the Montreal Canadiens, Montreal Wanderers, Ottawa Senators, and Quebec Bulldogs as the successor to the National Hockey Association. Frank Calder was chosen as its first president, serving until his death in 1943.