Are brussel sprouts root vegetables?

No, Brussels sprouts are not root vegetables. They are leaf vegetables and are a member of the Gemmifera cultivar group of cabbages (Brassica oleracea), grown for its edible buds. They are typically 1.5–4.0 cm (0.6–1.6 in) in diameter and resemble miniature cabbages.