How long does maple syrup last?

Unopened maple syrup should not go bad. Frozen maple syrup should also not go bad. Once maple syrup is opened, it can last in the refrigerator for up to a year. Signs that maple syrup has spoiled can include mold growing in the container or a sour yeast-like smell.