How long does maple syrup last?

Unopened maple syrup can last indefinitely. Once you open the bottle, maple syrup is fine for at least a year if stored properly. You will then notice a drop in quality and it will not taste as good as it used to, though is still considered safe to eat.

---

Unopened maple syrup should not go bad. Frozen maple syrup should also not go bad. Once maple syrup is opened, it can last in the refrigerator for up to a year. Signs that maple syrup has spoiled can include mold growing in the container or a sour yeast-like smell.