Who created the tooth fairy?

In Northern Europe, there was a tradition of tand-fé or tooth fee, which was paid when a child lost their first tooth. This tradition is recorded in writings as early as the Eddas, which are the earliest written record of Norse and Northern European traditions.

---

The first published mention of the “Tooth Fairy” was found in an article in the Chicago Tribune, dating back to 1908. In this article, the author, Lillian Brown, gave new parents a suggestion that would help them persuade children to have their loose baby teeth pulled.