Who invented dog years?

Dog years were invented by Georges Buffon in the 18th century. Dog years were later modified by Jak Largent.

---

In 1953, for example, a French researcher published a more nuanced version of the rule, based on emperical evidence: dogs age 15 to 20 times faster than humans do during their first year of life, but that ratio soon tapers off to about one dog year being the equivalent of five human years.