Who invented peanut butter?

In 1884 Marcellus Gilmore Edson a Canadian, patented peanut paste, the finished product from milling roasted peanuts between two heated surfaces. In 1895 Dr John Harvey Kellogg patented a process for creating peanut butter from raw peanuts. Yes, he is also the creator of Kellogg’s cereal