Do ostriches bury their head in the sand?

Ostriches do not stick their heads in the sand. They are flightless birds and are unable to build nests, so they lay their eggs in holes dug in the ground. They occasionally stick their heads into the holes to rotate the eggs, which makes it look like they're sticking their head in the ground.