What is l. a. l. s.?

ALS, or "Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis" is a neurodegenerative disease that results in the progressive loss of motor neurons that control voluntary muscles such as those responsible for chewing food, speaking, and walking. It is also known as motor neuron disease (MND) or Lou Gehrig's disease.