How old are nerds?

According to Online Etymology Dictionary, the word is an alteration of the 1940s term "nert " (meaning "stupid or crazy person"), which is in itself an alteration of "nut" (nutcase). The term was popularized in the 1970s by its heavy use in the sitcom Happy Days.