Who was the creator of tom and jerry?

The Tom and Jerry cartoon was originally created by animators William Hanna and Joseph Barbera for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer. MGM's animation department had yet to produce any hit cartoon characters since it began in the early 1930s, unlike other animation studios operating at the time.