Why does gas smell?

Natural Gas is colourless and odourless but also explosive. To ensure the gas is detectable by people, chemicals are added giving it the accepted smell akin to rotten eggs. One example is Mercaptan, which contains sulphur which is a significant contributor to the unpleasant aroma.