What is a bordetella vaccine for dogs?

The bordetella vaccine is given to both puppies and adult dogs. This vaccine helps to ward off a frequent illness that is known as kennel cough. Kennel cough is easily spread from one dog to another and is highly contagious. In healthy adult dogs, the condition is typically not life-threatening.