Why can't babies talk?

Babies’ brains are not sufficiently developed to produce words at birth. They also need to learn words, learn to control their tongue and lips, and gain cognitive abilities to understand words before speaking. They do communicate in other ways. Cries, kicks, reaching, smiling are communication.