What are calluses made of?

Calluses form when mild but repeated injury causes the cells of the epidermis to become increasingly active, giving rise to a localized increase in tissue. The resulting hardened, thickened pad of dead skin cells at the surface layer of the skin serves to protect underlying tissues.