What is cher's background?

Cher was born Cherilyn Sarkisian in El Centro, California, on May 20, 1946. Her father was an Armenian-American truck driver with drug and gambling problems; her mother was an occasional model and bit-part actress who claimed Irish, English, German, and Cherokee ancestry