What's the thing that hangs down in the back of your mouth?

Your uvula is that little fleshy piece of tissue that hangs from the roof of your mouth. Your uvula serves a purpose. It secretes saliva to keep your mouth lubricated. It also prevents food and liquids from entering the space behind your nose.