Why do they call ketchup ketchup?

Ketchup comes from the Hokkien Chinese word, kê-tsiap, the name of a sauce derived from fermented fish. It is believed that traders brought fish sauce from Vietnam to southeastern China. These early ketchups were mostly thin and dark, and were often added to soups, sauces, meat and fish.