What's the scientific name for tiger?

Panthera tigris is the scientific name for tiger. There are two recognized subspecies of tiger, the continental (Panthera tigris tigris) and the Sunda (Panthera tigris sondaica).

---

The scientific name for tigers is, Panthera tigris. The word Panthera, means leopard, and tigris, is Latin for tiger.