Why does the sun make you blind?

When you stare directly at the sun—or other types of bright light such as a welding torch—ultraviolet light floods your retina, literally burning the exposed tissue. ... It destroys the rods and cones of the retina and can create a small blind spot in the central vision, known as a scotoma.