Tell me about the nineteen eighty nine earthquake in san francisco?

San Francisco earthquake of 1989, also called Loma Prieta earthquake, major earthquake that struck the San Francisco Bay Area, California, U.S., on October 17, 1989, and caused 63 deaths, nearly 3,800 injuries, and an estimated $6 billion in property damage

---

The San Francisco earthquake of 1989, also known as the Loma Prieta earthquake, occurred on October 17, 1989, at 5:04 p.m. local time, had a magnitude of 6.9, and lasted for approximately 15 seconds. Its epicenter was located in the Santa Cruz Mountains (60 miles south of San Francisco).