Does hot chocolate expire?

If pure cocoa is stored properly, it does not really go bad, but the flavour and quality do decrease over time. Instant hot chocolate mixes, on the other hand, usually contain powdered milk (or some type of dairy product) so they they do actually expire and go bad.