What do you need potassium for?

Potassium is an essential mineral and electrolyte involved in heart function, muscle contraction, and water balance. A high intake may help reduce high blood pressure, salt sensitivity, and the risk of stroke. Additionally, it may protect against osteoporosis and kidney stones.