Who invented the umbrella?

The Egyptians; with parasols that date as far back as 2450BC. Used for shade from sun and fanning of royals. However, credited with inventing the world's first successfully collapsible umbrella frame is Samuel Fox. In 1851, during the Second US Industrial Revolution/Victorian period(1850 - 1914).