Why does broccoli stink so bad?

If cooking broccoli, it may stink due to breakdown of sulfuric compounds, the same compounds that make rotten eggs and stink bombs so putrid. Broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, and collards are cultivars of the plant Brassica oleracea. Sources: Wikipedia and Elsevier SciTech Connect.