What is a duvet cover?

A duvet, is down filled, and requires dry cleaning, which can be expensive. A duvet cover, protects the duvet from body sweat, spills or marks, therefore prolonging the need for cleaning. The cover, can be removed and washed in the washer, keeping the duvet and the bed fresh and clean.