Who created peanut butter?

There are methods that have been traced back to the Aztecs and Incas for grinding peanuts into paste, but the earliest patent for the closest resemblance to modern peanut butter was awarded in 1884 to Marcellus Gilmore Edson of Montreal Quebec, for producing peanut butter from roasted peanuts.