Is a pickle a vegetable or a fruit?

A pickle is a general term for a fruit or vegetable that has been preserved in acid to prevent microbial growth. The acid is most often vinegar or lactic acid and most preparations also contain salt. Cucumbers are a frequently pickled type of gourd and are technically fruit.