When did mario lemieux retire?

Mario Lemieux retired on two occasions due to health issues, first in 1997 after battling lymphoma before returning in 2000, and then a second and final time in 2006 after being diagnosed with heart problems.

---

Mario Lemieux retired for the final time in 2006.