What's the definition of embedded?

Imbedded means to "fix an object firmly within surrounding mass". An example is; the rock was imbedded in the dirt. Additionally, someone assigned to a specific group could be considered to be imbedded, such as "the war correspondent was imbedded with the first Calvary"