What is the piece of paper in a hershey kiss called?

That parchment paper strip is called a “plume”. Originally the paper plumes were also referred to as identification tags, possibly because they looked like miniature brand flags. When the paper plume was first introduced in 1921, was “KISSES” printed on the plume?