Why does it snow in winter?

During winter the earth is tilted away from the sun, resulting in shorter days. Shorter days mean colder temperatures. Thus causing precipitation to freeze.

---

precipitation occurs year round. When the temperature is below zero degrees Celsius rain turns to snow.