Do you have to refrigerate ketchup after opening?

In terms of safety, there's no real need to refrigerate ketchup. Tomatoes and vinegar, the main components in ketchup, help preserve the condiment at room temperature due to their natural acidity. ... So, if you prefer your ketchup warm, go ahead and leave it on the pantry shelf