What's the difference between seaweed and kelp?

Seaweed is a term which can be used to describe many different marine-based species of plants and algae. But sea kelp is more specific. It describes the largest subgroup of seaweed. Whereas kelp is most often found along rocky coastlines, and only in saltwater.