Where did rock paper scissors originate?

The origins of rock, paper, scissors have been traced back to China's Han Dynasty and was originally called shoushiling, meaning "the three who are afraid of each other," and the three choices were frog, slug, and snake. Like today's version of the game, the choices are represented by hand gestures.