What causes a battery to corrode?

A battery is a voltaic cell of varying chemistries. A dry cell, such as a AA, may leak over time, which is referred to as corrosion. Also, the chemical reaction occurs when the terminals are connected through a completed circuit. The anode of the cell corrodes through this process.