What is the genie coefficient?

In economics, the Gini coefficient, also known as the Gini index or ratio, is a measure of statistical dispersion intended to represent the income or wealth inequality within a nation or a social group. The Gini coefficient was developed by the statistician and sociologist Corrado Gini in 1912.