Who's the greatest hockey player in the world?

On Jan. 9, 1998, Gretzky is named the Greatest Hockey Player of All-Time as selected by The Hockey News. ... Gretzky won nine Hart Trophies in 10 seasons as the NHL's most valuable player. Gordie Howe's six Hart awards represent the second-highest total