What do you do if you touched your elf on the shelf?

The best technique is to replace him very gently without touching him physically - perhaps using kitchen tongues or oven mitts - and offering them a cookie and some milk or eggnog as this generally heals an elfs magic sickness. Gingerbread may be substituted for cookies if you have it