What is the temperature on the moon?

When sunlight hits the moon's surface, the temperature can reach 260 degrees Fahrenheit (127 degrees Celsius). When the sun goes down, temperatures can dip to minus 280 degrees Fahrenheit (minus 173 Celsius).